Aeternus was formed by Ares in 1993 in Bergen, Norway. Aeternus pioneered the genre Dark Metal; combining Black Metal and Death Metal with elements of classical and folk music. The band creates its trademark sound by layering superlative guitar playing and haunting, melodic interludes.

Upon releasing the Demo “Walk My Path” in 1994, Aeternus was signed to View Beyond Records who later released their cult classic “Dark Sorcery” in 1995. Hammerheart Records subsequently signed the band and released their debut album “Beyond the Wandering Moon” in 1997. This led to a long period of touring for the band throughout the 90`s and in to the new millennium. During this era Aeternus toured alongside bands such as Deicide, Behemoth, Cannibal Corpse, Mayhem, Emperor, Marduk, 1349 and Aura Noir among others.

Following a number of lineup changes and restructuring 2013 began a new era for the band with the release of “…And the Seventh his Soul Detesteth”. Of the original lineup only the founding member Ares remained. With a new spirit taking hold in the band, after years of silence, Aeternus returned to the stage touring in Europe with Taake and playing a large number of festivals. This era also sees the band perform their first appearance in the US at the Maryland Deathfest in front of a packed venue.

In 2018 Aeternus released their 8th and most recent album “Heathen”. In support of the release the band did their first Latin American tour, playing in Mexico, Colombia, Brazil and Argentina including a few festivals in Europe until the Pandemic stopped the bands live activity and future show plans. The band spent this period productively in creating new music and will be recording a new album in 2021.

Aeternus is:

-Ares: Guitar & Vocal

-Gorm: Guitar

-Eld: Bass

-Phobos: Drums